Advertising

Author Topic: [solved]Boot Problem after install  (Read 208 times)

Offline john261

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
[solved]Boot Problem after install
« on: October 14, 2018, 04:43:01 am »
Sorry if this has been addressed before but I am new to all this.  I just installed the SparkyLinux on my AlienWare 15r4 laptop.  I have a 2TB ssd and a 1TB 7200rpm hard drives.  I installed Sparky on the 2TB drive.  Install seemed to go fine.  I installed from a flash drive because I do not have a CD drive.  After install I removed the flash drive pressed F12 to boot from the SSD and nothing happens.  I just get a black screen.  No boot loader or anything.  I have the boot setup as UEFI.  Any suggestions?
« Last Edit: October 15, 2018, 08:07:35 am by lami07 »

Offline paxmark1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: Boot Problem after install
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2018, 05:40:11 am »
Are you dual booting with windows? 
What operating systems do you have on your computer and on what drives are they located.
Did you have a previous grub2?
Don't make a FrankenDebian

Offline john261

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Boot Problem after install
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2018, 07:00:22 pm »
I am not dual booting. 
I did a fresh install of only Sparkylinux.  I did try Ubuntu Game Pack but when I did the install of Sparkylinux I installed over ubuntu Game Pack. 
Nothing else is on the drive.

Offline hedon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Boot Problem after install
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2018, 08:32:37 pm »
In a UEFI setup, grub installs to EFI partition by default.  By pressing F12 and booting from SSD it sounds like you're skipping over the efi/grub boot and it's hanging.

What happens if you allow normal boot sequence from default drive?  You should get expect to see a UEFI/grub bootloader that either loads the first/default entry in grub, or allows you to choose in dual-boot or multi-boot situation.  If that isn't what happens by default, your grub is installed in the wrong location.

Could be a pretty simple fix, but can't really help until paxmarks questions are answered.

Offline john261

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Boot Problem after install
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2018, 02:04:05 am »
I just tried letting it try to load naturally and all it does is go to a black screen and there is a white line on the left of the screen.  It just hangs on that screen.  I am not dual booting.

Offline john261

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Boot Problem after install
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2018, 02:51:28 am »
Ok so I went in to Bios and I did not realize it but my boot option had been changed to Legacy.  I switched to UEFI and it shows Sparky.  I saved the changes and now boot up and it goes to a black screen that shows:
>>Checking Media Presence........
>>Media Present.......
>>Start PXE over IPV4.

Then I let my computer sit on that screen but after a few minutes it boots in to a Alienware program that tests my computer and it finds no errors.
Thank you for the help

Offline hedon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Boot Problem after install
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2018, 03:23:11 am »
That's interesting.  Your computer is tryiing to boot over network connection, which is usually a "last resort" method.  That tells me your grub is completely skipped over (or missing completely), and ends up defaulting to PXE.  Beyond that, I don't really know much, as I haven't seen this error before.

Is this page helpful:

Code: [Select]
https://appuals.com/how-to-fix-the-start-pxe-over-ipv4/
If not, can you still boot from the live installation media?  If so, install boot-repair (using Debian DEB package in link) and perform "recommended repair".  Tutorial here:

Code: [Select]
https://sourceforge.net/p/boot-repair/home/Home/
I haven't had many problems with grub over the years, but the few times I have, this has worked for me every time.  FWIW...

Offline john261

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Boot Problem after install
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2018, 04:13:44 am »
I actually got my problem solved.  I used DiskGenius and did a full wipe of my hard drive and then reinstalled Sparky and now it works.  I appreciate everyone adding input in to this.  Thank you very much.