Advertising

Author Topic: volume cannot be commanded by keyboard keys when the desktop is locked  (Read 266 times)

Offline penguin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
On my lenovo X201i the volume keys cannot command volume when the desktop is locked. I use sparky XFCE and my locker is i3lock.This happens on both i686 and x64 versions.
It is strange because the volume keys works perfectly when the desktop is not locked. I have tried all what I found on net: I have reconfigured volume keys on application shortcuts from Settings, also a small daemon created by someone that allows i3lock to intercept/percept keys pressed where i3lock has locked desktop, by no way. By a simple check, the XFCE percepts key pressed when the desktop is locked but simply Volume does not change or does not mute volume.

Any one have tried to command volume by keyboard keys when the desktop is locked? Any one that owns an lenovo laptop ?
Any one has the same issue on other laptops or LXDE,LXQT,MATE desktops ?

On the same I have both Sparkies and MX Linux i686 with XFCE desktop.On MX Linux everything functions fine.The  keyboard volume keys mute or change volume when the desktop is locked by i3lock.
Seems that Sparky does not have installed or installed a daemon that intercept key pressing and pass in action when the desktop is locked.


Offline Thomas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: volume cannot be commanded by keyboard keys when the desktop is locked
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2018, 01:19:58 am »
Hi Penguin,

Not sure if this would be of any help to you. It may be you need to set the shortcut keys for i3lock.

https://www.reddit.com/r/i3wm/comments/2wbv8x/question_how_to_manage_audio_with_i3/

https://faq.i3wm.org/question/125/how-to-change-the-systems-volume/

Offline penguin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: volume cannot be commanded by keyboard keys when the desktop is locked
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2018, 08:23:53 am »
Thanks.I will try when I back home. But ... why on Sparky this kind of artifices when on the very similar distro MX Linux everything goes fine? I remember,when I decided to upgrade to the last Sparky 5, I deleted my old XFCE Sparky 4 and installed Sparky LXDE 5 from scratch.The XFCE desktop is installed manually(not XFCE Sparky desktop, to avoid some packages).Maybe I have missed something during install.

Hmmm. Now I see. I mean i3locker not i3 desktop. So... the suggestion is not valid for my case.Anyway thanks.
I removed and reinstalled i3locker, but nothing is changed. I will try to remove and reinstall pulseaudio server.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2018, 06:54:05 pm by penguin »

Offline Thomas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: volume cannot be commanded by keyboard keys when the desktop is locked
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2018, 01:08:58 pm »
Hi Penguin,

Quote
why on Sparky this kind of artifices when on the very similar distro MX Linux everything goes fine?

I am not sure where the difference is between the distros is and have not tried MX Linux.

Was i3lock included in the MX distro or did you have to install it? Might make a difference if they had it included as part of the distro and had custom settings in the config for volume up/down to begin with. I have found it is an issue with 13lock on a few forums when searching for it.

It may be as simple of how it is installed. I installed Gimp 2.10 from Aptus in Sparky and it worked fine but G'MIC plugin would not work and kept crashing. I removed gimp and installed from synaptic which seems to be the same 2.10 version but now the G'MIC plugin works. I am not sure where the difference is and assume one installs additional packages that are needed. So maybe trying to remove and reinstall i3lock or simple reinstall it again of from synaptic or github may help.

Sorry, I can't give you a more technical reason as to why it works in one distro and not another but I am still new to using linux and still learning.


Offline penguin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: volume cannot be commanded by keyboard keys when the desktop is locked
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2018, 08:36:10 pm »
Hi Penguin,

Quote
why on Sparky this kind of artifices when on the very similar distro MX Linux everything goes fine?

I am not sure where the difference is between the distros is and have not tried MX Linux.

Was i3lock included in the MX distro or did you have to install it? Might make a difference if they had it included as part of the distro and had custom settings in the config for volume up/down to begin with. I have found it is an issue with 13lock on a few forums when searching for it.

It may be as simple of how it is installed. I installed Gimp 2.10 from Aptus in Sparky and it worked fine but G'MIC plugin would not work and kept crashing. I removed gimp and installed from synaptic which seems to be the same 2.10 version but now the G'MIC plugin works. I am not sure where the difference is and assume one installs additional packages that are needed. So maybe trying to remove and reinstall i3lock or simple reinstall it again of from synaptic or github may help.

Sorry, I can't give you a more technical reason as to why it works in one distro and not another but I am still new to using linux and still learning.

Nope. No function also by reinstalling pulseaudio or pavucontrol. i3locker is my favorite locker.Each time that  I try or use a distro, I uninstall default locker(screen saver) and install i3lock that is activated by xautolock on startup.