Advertising

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Adding Sid to Testing sources.list ?  (Read 184 times)

Offline dezix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
[SOLVED] Adding Sid to Testing sources.list ?
« on: February 04, 2018, 10:31:07 pm »
Hi,

I'm running Sparky Testing with out of box sources.list :

Code: [Select]
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.deb-multimedia.org/ testing main non-free

deb https://sparkylinux.org/repo/ testing main
deb-src https://sparkylinux.org/repo/ testing main

I usualy use Geany text editor with few plugins.

Actualy Geany's plugins aren't available in testing,
but in Sid.

So I'm tempted to add debian-sid repo in my sources,
but I'm not very sure about issues that could produce on my system.

Everything works perfectly, so I fear to mess it.

As I'm used to Synaptic, I plane to use it :

   * to add debian sid
   * to keep stesting as default pkges version
   * update list
   * dist-upgrade
   * Force version to sid only when no other choice

Is it safe to do so ?

Thanks for advise.



ps:
   What's about using sparky unstable repo ?
   What is its purpose ?
   I didn't found knowledge about it in the wiki,
   only the sources.list page (without more info)

« Last Edit: February 05, 2018, 09:27:28 pm by dezix »

Offline sdibaja

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Adding Sid to Testing sources.list ?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2018, 11:44:05 pm »
I do that a bit, namely to get Firefox Quantum.
Just be sure install the package you want and then immediately disable Sid. It gets messy sometimes with Sid.
Anyone else benefiting is just collateral damage

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1788
    • SparkyLinux
Re: Adding Sid to Testing sources.list ?
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2018, 05:51:20 pm »
Quote
Is it safe to do so ?
It's a question of your personal point of view; make sure it is unstable repos.

Quote
I do that a bit, namely to get Firefox Quantum.
You do not have to do that, the latest Firefox is in Sparky testing repos.

Quote
What's about using sparky unstable repo ?
What is its purpose ?
I sometimes put sparky packages there, if I am not sure they are redy to move them to testing.
And I upload there the latest Sparky's Linux kernel.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2018, 05:54:03 pm by pavroo »
Nothing is easy as it looks.
Danielle Steel

Offline sdibaja

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Adding Sid to Testing sources.list ?
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2018, 06:28:45 pm »
Quote
I do that a bit, namely to get Firefox Quantum.
"You do not have to do that, the latest Firefox is in Sparky testing repos."

I am running Debian Stretch Mate ;-)
« Last Edit: February 05, 2018, 06:30:59 pm by sdibaja »
Anyone else benefiting is just collateral damage

Offline dezix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Adding Sid to Testing sources.list ?
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2018, 09:25:00 pm »
@pavroo  thanks for explanations

@sdibaja thanks  for quick reply too

Few days ago I was reading here =>  https://linuxconfig.org/how-to-install-latest-firefox-browser-on-debian-9-stretch-linux
which seems to be the best practice to install Quantum under Debian.

Nice to meet both of  you.

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1788
    • SparkyLinux
Re: [SOLVED] Adding Sid to Testing sources.list ?
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2018, 10:06:05 pm »
You can not install the latest Firefox form Sid or Sparky testing repos on Debian stable.

The guide under your link doesn't install it in a "normal" way.
It downloads the latest archive of Firefox from Mozilla, and untar it only. You can do that too downloading it manually from Mozilla web site.
Nothing is easy as it looks.
Danielle Steel

Offline dezix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: [SOLVED] Adding Sid to Testing sources.list ?
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2018, 10:49:16 pm »
The guide under your link doesn't install it in a "normal" way.

Yes I'm aware about this,
but in fact there is no "normal way" (at the moment) to install in stable and testing  Firefox above V52.xxx

As mixing distros is not recommanded by Debian ,
installing from tarball — out of debian —  makes sense to me, if one wants absolutly use Quantum.

Maybe I'm wrong  :-[