Advertising

Author Topic: Is fstrim installed/activated by default?  (Read 1209 times)

Offline penguin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
Is fstrim installed/activated by default?
« on: November 03, 2017, 11:40:14 am »
Hi all.

I have a question.

It is fstrim installed/enabled by default in Sparky Linux ?
If not..
Which is the best way to install and activate fstrim to work automatically on weekly bases?

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2006
    • SparkyLinux
Re: Is fstrim installed/activated by default?
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2017, 01:49:01 pm »
Could be helpful ? https://blog.liw.fi/posts/2017/08/05/enabling_trim_discard_on_debian_ext4_luks_and_lvm/
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel
Join #sparkylinux at irc.freenode.net

Offline penguin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
Re: Is fstrim installed/activated by default?
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2017, 06:34:49 pm »
So ..?
Is not enabled ?
It is installed or need to be installed?

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2006
    • SparkyLinux
Re: Is fstrim installed/activated by default?
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2017, 08:12:32 pm »
Should be, try:
Code: [Select]
man fstrim
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel
Join #sparkylinux at irc.freenode.net

Offline poohduck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • motorbikes, mountain bikes, photography
Re: Is fstrim installed/activated by default?
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2019, 08:54:57 am »
I've just been looking at this, as a newbie. I have minimal resources, so I'm happy to run fstrim from command line once a week or so.

fstrim -a -v

The -v option just gives feedback of fstrim running and the results at the end.