Author Topic: Update seems to have broken Thunar network access  (Read 646 times)

Offline toothandnail

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Update seems to have broken Thunar network access
« on: May 18, 2016, 04:25:06 pm »
I've a fully updated Sparky XFCE system. I also support another user running the same install. In both cases, some recent upgrade seems to have broken Thunar's network browsing ability, at least with regard to Samba shares. In one case, another update, done this morning (UK time) has fixed the problem, but my install is still failing to allow network browsing or connections using Thunar.

When the network icon in the thunar side panel is clicked on, it sits, then eventually times out with the following error:

Code: [Select]
Failed to open "/ on ". Timeout was reached
In both cases, so long as cifs-utils is installed, network shares can be manually mounted, and using smbtree shows the shares over the network.

Any ideas as to the cause, and, in my case, a cure?

Paul.

Offline paxmark1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
Re: Update seems to have broken Thunar network access
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2016, 11:37:07 pm »
Try searching via Debian BTS   https://www.debian.org/Bugs/

Whatever it is, it hit unstable - sid 5 or more days ago.
Don't make a FrankenDebian

Offline toothandnail

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Update seems to have broken Thunar network access
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2016, 12:16:49 am »
Try searching via Debian BTS   https://www.debian.org/Bugs/

Thanks. Nothing relevant I can find under thunar or gvfs (they seem the most likely areas for the problem, since manual cifs options are working fine).

Quote
Whatever it is, it hit unstable - sid 5 or more days ago.

I'm not very familiar with Debian (been running Arch for the last 3 - 4 years). Is there somewhere I can find more details?

The odd thing is, two systems showed the same symptoms. Both about the same age, I think - I've had an instance of Sparky running for about 2 years, and I think I installed the other copy just a little bit later). In one instance, an update done a couple of days ago has fixed the problem, In my case, it still exists.

Paul.

Offline paxmark1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
Re: Update seems to have broken Thunar network access
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2016, 12:53:54 am »
It is good that the command line works for you.  My main skill sets are lxqt and lxde. 

Nothing much in oftc.  You might try in freenode irc with #debian-xfce or #xfce.  I would advise you to identify yourself as using Debian testing, as it is debian's "tasksel" that pulled down your xfce and debian testing packages for your xfce.  Peace out
Don't make a FrankenDebian