Author Topic: Sparky APTus 2 bytes letter problem  (Read 851 times)

Offline LeGoff55

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Sparky APTus 2 bytes letter problem
« on: May 16, 2014, 06:04:36 pm »
Hi from Japan!



I like the beginner friendly graphical features of APTus.

However, when I work with it, the terminal window does not display 2 bytes letters (Chinese characters and Japanese letters)

correctly. Instead it shows white squares and I can not read the messages shown in the terminal.

Other applications such as LXTerminal and Iceweasel handle 2 bytes letters correctly, so I assume that my locale setting is

OK.

Is there any solution?









« Last Edit: May 16, 2014, 06:04:36 pm by 550 »

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
    • SparkyLinux
Re: Sparky APTus 2 bytes letter problem
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2014, 06:42:49 pm »
Hi from Poland :)

I still have the same problem with Polish letters. I tried to reconfigure console-data, but it did not change anything.

I think, the best way is to change the xterm for something different, such as Lxterminal.

What do you think?
« Last Edit: July 01, 2014, 03:46:23 pm by 14 »
Nothing is easy as it looks.

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
    • SparkyLinux
Re: Sparky APTus 2 bytes letter problem
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2014, 01:44:37 am »
It's done. APTus uses the default terminal emulator now.

Upgrade it up to 0.1.7.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2014, 03:45:50 pm by 14 »
Nothing is easy as it looks.

Offline LeGoff55

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
[SOLVED] Re: Sparky APTus 2 bytes letter problem
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2014, 04:56:38 pm »
HI, pavroo!



WOW WOW, so quick job, I'm impressed.

Now APTus launches LXterminal and it shows 2 bytes letters perfectly.

Thank you !!!!
« Last Edit: July 01, 2014, 03:45:32 pm by 550 »

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
    • SparkyLinux
Re: Sparky APTus 2 bytes letter problem
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2014, 05:34:25 pm »
It launches the default terminal emulator depends of a desktop:

LXDE - Lxterminal

Xfce - Xfce4-termianal

MATE - mate-terminal, etc.

I had to add one more option : Update packages.

Xterm supports double commands only for aptus (command1 && command2).

So I separated update && upgrade commands.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2014, 03:45:14 pm by 14 »
Nothing is easy as it looks.